What a joy to be able to stage this beautiful 1901 Colonial near Samford, Queensland.  The property is on 88 acres of horse friendly land and the views from the property are just gorgeous (see below)

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.36.05 PM

The fixed elements of the property – wall colour, flooring, window treatments, bathroom were all ready to go.  The owners also had some beautiful antique pieces that I could work with.  I therefore concentrated on re-purposing some of the rooms and swapping out some of the heavier furniture which didn’t really fit in a heritage property. A bedroom became a TV room so the TV could be moved from the living area where it was in the way of the view. A spare room became a kid’s room as I felt strongly that the new owners would be a young family.  I then hired furniture, artwork and accessories around what the owners already had. Here’s a before and after of the dining area.

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.19.19 PM

The agent and I found the dining room table in the shed. It was like an episode of American pickers as we excitedly realised we could re-use it. I then hired some modern retro style chairs to complete the look.

Screen shot 2013-12-01 at 3.47.22 PM

The living area had too much furniture and it was too dark. The main feature were the views out of the window so I moved the TV and placed a sofa facing the view.

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.17.32 PM

The delivery guys from Guest did a great job hanging the picture in this room as I wanted it right over the picture rail – a delicate operation!

Screen shot 2013-11-27 at 5.34.11 PM

The room below was a guest room but I turned it into a TV room/another living area. A second living area is always a good idea for a family if I can fit one in.

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.18.27 PM

I re-used one of the black sofas in the room but lightened the look with the occasional chair, rug and artwork.

Screen shot 2013-12-01 at 3.51.42 PM

One of the first things I said to my client was that the kitchen needed painting as it was such a personal colour. After being told this wasn’t going to happen as she needed to list quickly I had to work with what I had.

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.18.12 PM

The agent and I found the kitchen island masquerading as a work bench in the shed. Amazingly it was painted white and aubergine – the same colour as the cupboard units. The client bought the industrial shelving unit and I styled the kitchen with veggies, cutting blocks and fresh flowers. I’m actually pleased that we didn’t paint the units!

Screen shot 2013-12-01 at 3.52.06 PM

Look at the lovely archway in the Master bed.  A beautiful feature. I kept the look/feel in this room light. I moved the pine bed into another room and hired a bed and bed head, side tables and lamps that did this master bedroom justice. If you are going to put the effort and money into one bedroom in the house make it the master – the owner(s) will be sleeping there!

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.18.44 PM

The room now looks light and airy and its all about the view and the archway.

Screen shot 2013-12-01 at 3.51.29 PM

This is the spare room. Great floor and window – just waiting to be turned into a kid’s bedroom

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.17.09 PM

And what little boy wouldn’t want a sweet bedroom like this.

Screen shot 2013-12-01 at 3.52.53 PM

This back verandah was showing signs of this being a busy acreage property.

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.17.56 PM

The agent had a few pieces that we used that fit perfectly with the eclectic country look and feel that I wanted to create. The client also hired lots of plants in pots. This always makes a huge difference. Big shout out at this point to the Agent, Ronni Grevell. It’s such a pleasure working with an agent who understands the importance of presentation when selling a property. Along with the owners this project felt like a true collaboration and a lot of fun.

Screen shot 2013-12-01 at 3.53.08 PM

The front verandah housed a sofa that, although well used and comfy had seen better days.

Screen shot 2013-12-06 at 2.19.02 PM

We swapped it for a white whicker setting and plants. A quintessential Queensland look.

Screen shot 2013-12-01 at 3.51.14 PM

The time between the before and after pictures was approximately 10 days. In those 10 days whilst I was swanning around the furniture warehouse the clients and agent worked tirelessly getting the house and land ready. 10 days after listing the house had a contract on it and it went unconditional yesterday.

I’m Imogen Brown a Home Stager living in the Western suburbs of Brisbane. I LOVE staging Queenslanders as you’ve probably gathered! If you have a heritage house that you would like to sell and you would like some help and advice then give me a call on 0432994056 or contact me through my website

You may also like

Sold before listing. That’s the way to do it.

Dream project. Dream Client

Two stagers, one house and a wishbone chair